East Malling

Church Farm, 198 New Hythe Lane, Larkfield, Kent, ME20 6ST   UK
01732 844546 Fax: 01732 875857 E-mail: office@emandlpc.co.uk W
eb: www.emandlpc.co.uk

Local Government
The function of the Parish Council

The Parish Council is the lowest tier of local government, being the closest to the residents, it is responsible for running village halls, some street lighting and open spaces within the parish of East Malling and Larkfield.
It should not be confused with a church council which is the Parochial Church Council.
The council consist of 17 councillors, 11 from Larkfield, 6 from East Malling, elected by the residents, who serve a four year term on a voluntary basis. It gives the ordinary residents the opportunity to have a say in local issues.


The main council meet monthly usually on the first Wednesday of the month. There are also committee meetings. Meetings take place at Church Farm, New Hythe Lane and are open to the public.



The Council also:

* Comments to the Borough Council on planning applications

* Makes representations on matters affecting the parish to the Borough and County Councils

* Provides very local facilities such as public seats, maintains the local church yards and some street lights mainly in East Malling

The Council was formed in 1896 as East Malling Parish Council. Its name was changed in 1962 to the present East Malling and Larkfield Parish Council.


Public representatives of
tiers of government


UK Government / Central Government
Tracey Crouch Conservative party
Tom Tugendhat Conservative party
House of Commons

Kent CountyCouncil
Mrs Trudy Dean Liberal Democrat
01732 843119

Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council
East Malling Ward

Cllr. Roger Roud
M. Tatton

Larkfield South Ward

Cllr. Tim Bishop
Cllr. Anita S Oakley

Larkfield North Ward
Cllr. Mrs Trudy Dean
Cllr. David Thornewell

East Malling & Larkfield
Parish Council
as list on page



D7-Desingned web | Site Map | Contact Us | ©2018 East Malling and Larkfield Parish Council